Thursday, 30 Jun 2016
You are here: Home

Who's Online

We have 16 guests online


To be the centre of excellence for serenity of the man kind through Visual and Performing Arts


To offer culturally enriching opportunities to all students and members of the University. To obtain prominence in the Asian region while conforming to the technological advancement in relations to Arts and Crafts in an environment which stimulates creativity.

University of the Visual & Performing Arts


University of the Visual & Performing Arts was established on 1st of July 2005, by the former President of the Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, (Government Gazette notification issued on 09th November 2005). This University replaces the former Institute of Aesthetic Studies affiliated to the University of Kelaniya. The University of the Visual & Performing Arts has three faculties, namely Faculty of Dance & Drama, Faculty of Music and Faculty of Visual Arts and the three faculties compromise twenty two departments.

University of Visual & Performing Arts - 2005


History of the University



The origin of the University of the Visual and Performing Arts can be traced back to the year 1893, the era in which the Ceylon Technical College was established. Drawing and Design were among the first courses to be taught there.Approximately five decades later, on the 1st of October 1949, the Department of Arts and Aesthetics shifted its locality from Horton Place to Haywood College.

Heywood Building - 1949