The Council is the executive body and governing authority of the University and composed of the Vice Chancellor, who is the ex-officio Chairman, Deans of the three Faculties, two elected representatives of the Senate and persons of distinction in Educational, Professional, Commercial, Industrial, Scientific or Administrative spheres who are appointed by the University Grants Commission (UGC) in such numbers as to exceed the aforementioned membership from the University by one.

  • Vice Chancellor

    • Prof. Sarath Chandrajeewa - Chairman
  • Deans of the Faculties

    • Associate Prof. M.R. Podinilame - Faculty of Visual Arts
    • Mr. Chiltus Dayawansa - Faculty of Music
    • Mr.Jayantha Pushpakumara - Faculty of Dance & Drama (Actg. Dean)
    • Dr. S.P.D. Liyanage - Faculty of Graduate Studies
  • Senate Nominees

    • Snr.Lec. (Dr) Indika Ferdinando
    • Snr.Lec. Iranga Samindani Silva Weerakkody
  • UGC Appointees

    • Prof.(Mrs) Kusuma Karunaratne
    • Retired. Prof.(Mrs) Mangalika Jayatunga
    • Dr.Sunil Wijesiriwardena
    • Mr.C.Maliyadda
    • Mr. Gunasena Thenabadu
    • Mr.D. Bandaranayake
    • Mr.B.M.K. Mohottala
    • Mr. T. Darmarajah
  • Secretary to the Council

    • Mr. B.M. Dayawansa (Registrar)

Get In Touch

If you'd like to get in touch with us, feel free to contact.

  • Add: 21, Albert Crescent, Colombo 07
  • Tel: +94-11-2033710
  • Fax:+94-11-2696972
  • Email:

Students Say About Us